Does age matter?

Discuss all things pertaining to the EnderVerse milieu.
obera004
Launchie
Launchie

Does age matter?

Postby obera004 » Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:47 pm

This is my first time posting here, I just finished Ender's Game a few days ago.

I liked the book very much, the author gave it the sort of style that you enjoy getting to know the characters which was great. However, this book also left me with much lingering uneasiness.

First of all is the way Ender was chosen; he not only fought back when attacked, but sent a message to his enemies. This is a recurring theme throughtout the book. Whenever anyone wanted to engage Ender, he killed them, maybe not always intentionally, but that was the outcome. There was the kid Ender killed when he was only FIVE, the kid in the shower, and the entire Bugger race.

One of the other things about this book that left me uneasy, was the fact that these children saw no other option when the government came for them, it was their duty to join the fight against the Buggers. Ender was only five when he first left. Did being exposed to so much destruction at such a young age ultimately make Ender's final decision for him? Also, when he decided to use Dr. Device, he was under false pretenses, and therefore not able to make an educated decision. Not to mention the fact that the whole future of the planet and race was in his hands at the tender age of 11.

These are just a few of the things that I had a hard time with in the book, but overall I liked it.

Gravity Defier
Commander
Commander
Title: Ewok in Tauntaun-land

Postby Gravity Defier » Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:53 pm

There was the kid Ender killed when he was only FIVE