In which Abbie stops by for a little update!

Talk about anything under the sun or stars - but keep it civil. This is where we really get to know each other. Everyone is welcome, and invited!
Miss Abbie
Soldier
Soldier

In which Abbie stops by for a little update!

Postby Miss Abbie » Fri May 01, 2015 5:14 pm

Well, hi there!

It’s been a long time, hasn’t it? I got kind of called back here recently and I realized that I forgot what it’s like and then I retroactively missed being around for all the years! I just want to fill you in on my stuff and also hear a bit about you, if you’re into that!

I’m a scientist now! It’s been pretty nice. I got undergrad degrees in neuroscience and biochemistry. College was really difficult for me, interpersonally, because it was my first experience with a social climate where you first get to know people in groups and only then do you maybe hang out one-on-one. Groups of people are pretty scary! And I’m, you know, pretty shy. But I’m getting better at socializing, maybe! Anyway, college was four very lonely years, but I got out! And now I’m in graduate school! I got my Master’s degree last summer in biomedical engineering and I’m working on my PhD in pharmacology! When I finally become an adult, I want to make medicine and save people! Right now my research is on multiple sclerosis mainly, but I’m interested in pretty much any disease with inflammatory features. My PhD advisor is an excellent human who has let me just mad-science around for the past three years and it’s been really awesome. I’m getting ready to publish my first journal article soon! Then I’ll be legit!